Posted by: MissCarlotta | April 14, 2011

Flashback: Gingerbread Men: ABC cut

This recipe comes from my family cookbook and is noted as being of my Aunt Debbie’s origin.  She made these quite regularly during the holidays when I was growing up and frequently I was allowed to help in the making.  Her decorating scheme was usually raisin buttons and eyes.   She also has a sense of humor and sent me a set of ABC (already been chewed) gingerbread men cookie cutters.

“Hmm… this one doesnt have a leg…”

So naturally when I had cookies to bake in late December/Start of January  I turned to my ABC Gingerbread Men.

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 1 egg
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon allspice
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ginger
  • **OPTIONAL** Raisins for eyes and buttons OR assorted frostings

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF (175ºC)
  2. Cream butter, sugar and molasses.
  3. Add egg and mix well
  4. Add dry ingredients and mix well.
  5. Roll out dough 1/4 inch thick on a floured surface and and cut out.
  6. **OPTIONAL** Decorate with your raisin eyes and buttons
  7. Bake 8-10 minutes at 350ºF
  8. Let cool on baking sheet for a couple minutes, then move to wire rack to cool completely
  9. **Optional** Decorate with your frostings.

Disabled Gingerbread Men of America

I tried my best to decorate without making it obvious that the missing parts were intentionally missing.  Sent them off in the new non-holiday cookiejar* with the curious question…. would geeky IT people eat cookies that looked like they had already been nibbled on?

Ben reported back that not only would his co-workers eat ABC gingerbread men, but that only one person made any comment on their poor condition.  “This one is missing a leg…. I guess that means I’ll just have to take another!”

TIP: For my “frosting” I used Wilton’s Candy Melts so they would set up a bit stiffer and not smudge in my cookiejar.

PS:  The everyday cookiejar was a pick up from The Container Store


Leave a comment

Categories