Posted by: MissCarlotta | April 11, 2011

Dark Chocolate with White Chocolate Chips

Its like an inverted Chocolate Chip cookie!  They are just as easy to make, but their rich coloring and flavor makes people think they are a bit more upperclass.

cookies

350ºF / 8-10 min.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup dark chocolate (or unsweetened) cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 2/3 cups white chocolate chips or chunks

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350ºF (175ºC)
  2. Cream together the butter and sugar until fluffy.
  3. Beat in Eggs and Vanilla
  4. Add Flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt; mixing in thoroughly.
  5. Hand fold in your White Chocolate chips or chunks
  6. Drop batter by teaspoonful onto an ungreased cookie sheet
  7. Bake for 8-10 minutes until set
  8. Let cook on cookie sheet for a couple minutes and then move to cooling rack to cool completely

 

I saved a few of these from the batch for the home cookiejar since I suspect my father, who is coming to visit at the end of the week, will enjoy them.   My father and I share a love of chocolate.  It can be white, milk, dark… just about any kind and I will savor it.  Heck…. I can savor an M&M, and let it just melt through the candy shell into my mouth.  (This is a trick I learned when I was younger and wanted to sample chocolate chips, but didn’t dare take too many from the cupboard or my samples would get noticed.  So I’d sneak just a couple and hold them in my mouth letting them melt away.)

I will confess that at this point in my life, I’ve started to pass over the no-name brand chocolate bits that they seem to put out for candy holidays.  It just seems to me they have gotten into the chalky or oily dregs and lack the richness of flavor I expect.

Leave a Reply

Categories

