Posted by: MissCarlotta | April 25, 2011

Mint-Chocolate Slices

Ok here it is… my first ever original cookie recipe.  I was inspired by the simpleness of my prior Maple Slices cookies into making something similar but with a different flavoring… chocolate and mint was what I settled on. (Naturally because I’m from a mint city and a chocoholic!)

I'm not a Girl Scout, I just play one in the kitchen!

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon of mint extract
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons dark chocolate cocoa powder

Directions:

  1. Beat Butter, sugars and mint extract in large bowl until fluffy.
  2. Mix in remaining dry ingredients
  3. Shape Dough into roll on wax paper, wrap and refrigerate until firm (~2 hours)
  4. Heat Oven to 375ºF (190ºC)
  5. Slice dough into 1/4 inch (0.6cm) slices and place on baking sheet.
  6. Bake 8 to 10 minutes until slightly browned at the edges.
  7. Remove from baking sheet and let cool completely on wire rack.
I was surprised at how much like traditional Girl Scout Thin Mints these tasted.  They just need a thin chocolate shell.  I would suggest if making for sharing…. double the recipe size.  I kept my batch small because it was something new.
Leave a Reply

Categories

